Sunday 10 Apr 2016

Bach Collegium Japan


The lauded Bach specialists present two dramatic cantatas and the gloriously celebratory Magnificat

Bach Collegium Japan
Masaaki Suzuki conductor
Rachel Nicholls soprano
Joanne Lunn soprano
Robin Blaze countertenor
Colin Balzer tenor
Dominik Wörner bass

Bach Cantata BWV.21 ‘Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis’
Bach Cantata BWV.170 ‘Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust’
Bach Magnificat in D major BWV.243

This is an archived event

Masaaki Suzuki (c) Marco Borggreve

Unfortunately Hana Blažíková is unable to appear in this concert. We are very grateful to Rachel Nicholls for performing in her place.

‘Our desire is to share the joy of this wonderful music.’ Under its charismatic conductor Masaaki Suzuki, the Bach Collegium Japan has been lauded across the globe for its fresh and innovative period-instrument performances of Bach. In a rare visit to the region, the ensemble is joined by a world-class line-up of soloists (including celebrated countertenor Robin Blaze) to present three major works. The cantata Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust (Delightful rest, beloved pleasure of the soul) for alto solo explores the connection between inner peace and religious fulfilment, while the large-scale work Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis (I had much trouble in my heart) depicts sighs, tears and shouts of joy in music of spectacular grandeur. The concert closes with Bach’s glorious Christmas offering to the people of Leipzig in 1723 – the triumphant Magnificat.

Tickets £14-£35

This concert will finish at approximately 9.45pm

Sunday 10 Apr 2016

Bach Collegium Japan

Join our newsletter