Sunday 15 Nov 2015

Benedetti Elschenbroich Grynyuk Trio


Nicola Benedetti’s acclaimed chamber trio perform their signature work, the brooding Tchaikovsky Piano Trio

Nicola Benedetti violin
Leonard Elschenbroich cello
Alexei Grynyuk piano

Schubert Notturno in E Flat D.897
Schubert Piano Trio in B flat D.898


Tchaikovsky Piano Trio in A minor Op.50

This is an archived event

Nicola Benedetti (c) Simon Fowler

At the request of the artist there has been a change to the advertised programme. Schubert’s Notturno in E Flat will replace the Schubert Adagio.

Chamber music is a vital cornerstone of Nicola Benedetti’s career, and since 2008 she has performed reguarly with her trio, featuring acclaimed soloists Leonard Elschenbroich (cello) and Alexei Gynyuk (piano). The three have established a unique musical rapport (‘an undeniable connection between performers and audience’ The Scotsman), and for this concert they perform their ‘signature’ work, the Trio by Tchaikovsky which, in an extraordinarily powerful set of variations, portrays different aspects of the composition’s beloved dedicatee Nikolai Rubinstein. They also play Schubert’s Trio No 1, a rich and varied work which includes one of the composer’s most justly celebrated slow movements.

This concert will finish at approximately 9.40pm

Tickets £12-£30

Sunday 15 Nov 2015

Benedetti Elschenbroich Grynyuk Trio