Sunday 15th May 2016, 3pm

Britten Sinfonia


A compelling programme including Bach’s Brandenburg No.3 and Britten’s Phaedra

This is an archived event

Britten Sinfonia
Ruby Hughes mezzo-soprano
Mahan Esfahani harpsichord/director
Jacqueline Shave violin/director

Bach Brandenburg Concerto No.3 in G major BWV.1048
Purcell Rondeau from 'Abdelazar Suite'
Purcell arr. Nico Muhly Let the night perish (Job's Curse) Z.191
Purcell Dido's Lament from 'Dido and Aeneas'
Tippett (after Purcell) A Lament from Divertimento on ‘Sellinger’s Round’
Bach Keyboard Concerto No.1 in D minor BWV.1052
Britten Phaedra Op.93

To book a wheelchair space or if you have any access requirements please phone the Box Office.

The free minibus service between Audley End Station and Saffron Hall will be in operation for this concert. For more details click here

Presented by Saffron Hall

161016 Britten Sinfonia

We are very sorry to announce that Alice Coote is indisposed and unable to perform. We are extremely grateful to mezzo-soprano Ruby Hughes for performing in her place. Due to this change, there has also been a small adjustment to the programme. The Handel arias will be replaced with alternatives.

Britten’s final great masterpiece, written just before his death in 1976, is based on the dramatic legend of Phaedra, a noblewoman who falls unrequitedly in love with her stepson, causes his death, and then takes her own life. Mezzo Ruby Hughes performs this taught, devastating work. Britten Sinfonia is joined too by the award-winning Iranian-American harpsichordist Mahan Estafani, who plays a popular keyboard concerto by Bach in addition to the vital harpsichord part in the orchestral accompaniment to Phaedra.

This concert will finish at approximately 5pm.


Sunday 15th May 2016, 3pm

Britten Sinfonia