Saturday 25 Nov 2017

Cambridge University Symphony Chorus

£10 - £28 (plus concessions) Book Now
Cambridge University Symphony Chorus
£10 - £28 (plus concessions) Book Now

Following its triumphant Saffron Hall debut in 2016 with Elgar’s The Dream of Gerontius, Cambridge University Symphony Chorus returns to present Handel’s monumental oratorio Israel in Egypt.

Borrowing unashamedly from his own work, and parodying many other composers along the way, Handel sets out the great biblical story of the Israelites’ delivery from captivity in Egypt, led by Moses through a divided Red Sea after plagues of insects, disease and death.

Under the direction of Richard Wilberforce, the Chorus is delighted to be collaborating once again with the East Anglia Chamber Orchestra, and welcomes a fine array of soloists to Saffron Hall.

This concert will finish at approximately 9.45pm

To book a wheelchair space or if you have any access requirements please phone the Box Office.

Presented by Cambridge University Musical Society

There are no upcoming performances.
Richard Wilberforce conductor
Cambridge University Symphony Chorus
East Anglia Chamber Orchestra
Sophia Larsson soprano
Iúnó Connolly soprano
Christopher Lowrey alto
Adam Temple-Smith tenor
Garreth John bass
Tristan Hambleton bass

Handel Concerto Grosso in D minor Op.6 No.10

Handel Israel in Egypt