Friday 26 Oct 2018

English Touring Opera: Triple Bill

£18 - £55 Book Now
English Touring Opera: Triple Bill
£18 - £55 Book Now

A rare concoction of 17th-century music and opera, featuring a triptych of fully-staged works: Purcell’s well-loved Dido & Aeneas, Carissimi’s biblical Jonas, and a selection of striking madrigals by the infamous Gesualdo.

featuring fully-staged works by Purcell, Carissimi and Gesualdo. Best known is Dido & Aeneas, and the aria ‘When I am laid in earth’. “Remember me!” the abandoned Dido calls, and in Purcell’s melody she will be remembered forever. Director Sebastian Harcombe promises to conjure a Jacobean night-world, in which a great woman contemplates her ruin.

The priest-composer Giacomo Carissimi made a series of short musical dramas for his Roman audience, depicting scenes from the Bible in which humans wrestle with God. One of the finest is Jonas, or Jonah, which depicts the story of Jonah and the whale. Dancer/director Bernadette Iglich will make a new piece of drama on this story with Carissimi’s sensuous music.

The third part of the evening showcases music of the prince-murderer-compose Carlo Gesualdo. Tortured by his mortal love affairs and by his intense love for an absent God, Gesualdo was a striking original. Eight singers and eight players will perform some of his most intense madrigals in a landscape of shadows and candle-light. You will not have heard anything like this before.

Our freshly made pre-show Deli Boxes are available to order for this event. Click here for more information.

To book a wheelchair space or if you have any access requirements please phone the Box Office or email us at

The free minibus service between Audley End Station and Saffron Hall will be in operation for this concert. For more details click here

Presented by Saffron Hall

Venue: Saffron Hall

26 Oct 2018 - 7:30pm Book Now
Old Street Band
Jonathan Peter Kenny conductor
Seb Harcombe director
Bernadette Iglich director
Adam Wiltshire designer
Rory Beaton lighting designer

Purcell Dido & Aeneas

Carissimi Jonas

Gesualdo I Will Not Speak