Sunday 13 Mar 2016

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra


Vasily Petrenko conducts Mahler 5 and Simon Trpčeski plays Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No.2

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko conductor
Simon Trpčeski piano

Grieg Lyric Suite excerpt: Gangar
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.2


Mahler Symphony No.5

This is an archived event

Vasily Petrenko (c) Mark McNulty

There has been a change to the advertised programme. Only one Grieg Lyric Suite excerpt will be performed.

One of the world’s greatest orchestras performs Saffron Hall’s first Mahler symphony – the achingly beautiful No.5. Vasily Petrenko, music director of the Oslo Philharmonic since 2013, conducts Mahler’s epic and tormented masterpeice which, in its famous ‘Adagietto’, contains an intense musical love-letter to the composer’s wife. With the highly sought-after soloist Simon Trpčeski, they also offer Rachmaninov’s enduringly popular second piano concerto, the work which established the composer’s international fame as a composer.

Tickets £16-£40

This concert will finish at approximately 5.10pm

Sunday 13 Mar 2016

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra

Join our newsletter